top of page

2020 Charles Eastin Award Guidelines

To recognize the contributions of the hundreds of volunteers and leaders in the agriculture, food and fiber communities who are dedicated to increasing public awareness of agriculture’s vital role in our society, the Charles Eastin Outstanding Service Award will be presented to an outstanding individual who has contributed as an advocate for communications between farm and city.

  • The nominee can be any person over 21 years of age.

  • The person may be nominated by anyone active in agriculture.

  • The completed application should be submitted online by February 1, 2020.

  • A three-member committee, including at least one member of the ACA Board of Directors will judge the applications and select the recipient.

  • The award will be presented at USDA on March 24, 2020.

  • The winner will be reimbursed for reasonable travel expenses to attend the annual Ag Day event.



The Charles Eastin Outstanding Service Award is named in honor of Charles “Charlie” Eastin, DVM, who passed away at the age of 86 on January 28, 2011.


Dr. Eastin played an important role as a board member of the National Farm-City Council for many years. He served as the 35th Chairman of the NFCC from 1992-1994 and through the years, has chaired and served on many committees. Through his efforts, Lexington, Kentucky hosted a NFCC National Conference in the early 1990’s. As chairman of the Rural Urban Committee, he worked to build and maintain collaboration between the Lexington Rotary Club and University of Kentucky to host activities to further National Farm-City Council goals during Farm-City Week every year.

bottom of page